Dr. Amarjit Chopra

AICTE Representative


Dr. Amarjit Chopra was Born in June 1952. He did his graduation and post-graduation from Delhi University in the years 1971 and 1973 respectively. He qualified as Chartered Accountant in the year 1975. He successfully completed his PhD on the topic "NPA Management in Banks: A Comparison of Public and Private Sector Banks in India" in February 2022. He has been in the profession for a period of more than 46 years. He is a senior partner in GSA & Associates LLP New Delhi. He was also engaged in teaching at Deshbandhu (Eve.) College, a Delhi University maintained college for nearly 23 years. He was elected to the Northern India Regional Council of ICAI for two terms 1985-1988 and 1988-1991 and was its Chairman for the year 1988-1989.

He was elected to the Central Council of ICAI for five consecutive terms of three years each beginning in 1998 and ending in 2013. He was elected as President of ICAI for the year 2010-2011 and Vice President for the year before. During his term as Central Council Member, he was a member of various Standing and Non-Standing Committees of ICAI.

He Chaired some of the most significant Committees namely the Accounting Standards Board, Auditing and Assurance Standards Board, Financial Reporting Review Board, Corporate Laws Committee, Expert Advisory Committee, Disciplinary Committee, Executive Committee, Examination Committee etc. He was nominated by Govt. of India on the Board of Bank of Baroda (2006-2009), Indian Bank (2011-2014), and Garden Reach Ship Builders and Engineers Ltd (2011-2014). He Chaired Audit Committees of all the aforesaid companies.

He was also on the Board of Insurance and Regulatory Authority (IRDA),South Asian Federation of Accountants, and Confederation of Pacific Accountants for the year 2010-2011. He was a member of the Committee on Accounting Issues of Insurance Companies constituted by IRDA. He was nominated to Bench II of the Disciplinary Committee of ICAI by Govt. of India for a period of four years till Feb.2022. He was nominated by Central Govt. as the Chairman of the National Advisory Committee on Accounting Standards for a period of four years from 2014-2018.

During this tenure, Indian Accounting Standards(Ind AS) equivalent to IFRS was introduced in the country. As Chairman Accounting Standards Board of ICAI, he introduced the IFRS certificate course and organised and participated in IFRS training programmes in the Middle East, Nepal, Bhutan, Myanmar and India. He was also nominated by Govt. of India as a member of the Investor Education Protection Authority. He Chaired the Committee constituted by Govt. to revise Manufacturing and Other Companies Auditors Report Order (MAOCARO) in 2003 and to revise the Companies Auditor’s Report Order (CARO) in the year 2019.

Presently he is Part Time member of the National Reporting Authority (NFRA). He is also a member of the Standing Committee on Corporate Laws constituted by Govt. of India for the last three years. He acted as Technical Advisor to the International Auditing and Assurance Standards Board of IFAC during the year 2009-2010. He was a member of the Professional Accountancy Organising Development Committee (PAODC) of IFAC for a period of three years (2011-2014). He was Vice Chair of the Committee during 2013-2014. He has been conferred honorary membership by the Australian Institute of Chartered Accountants.

He has also been conferred honorary life membership by the International Association of Accountants London. In his professional career, he has conducted statutory/internal/forensic audits of a large number of public sector organizations. He is a prolific writer and speaker. He has delivered more than 3000 lectures on matters of professional interest in India and abroad. He is on the roaster of IMF as a resource person and has conducted missions in Mauritius, Bhutan and Seychelles. He has participated in debates on various TV channels.

He has jointly authored a book on Indian Accounting Standards (Ind AS). He is on the Tata Power Trading Company Ltd, Maithon Power Ltd, SBI Mutual Fund Trustees Companies Pvt Ltd, Rico AutoIndustries Ltd., Roop Auto Ltd, Accounting Research Foundation Ltd etc.